- Tel: 061 385186
- Web: www.loughgur.com
- Opening Hours:
- Heritage Centre- Mon-Fri 10am-6pm
- Sat & Sun 12pm-6pm
Discovering the horseshoe-shaped lake at the heart of this magical landscape is one of those wonderful rural adventures so typical of Ireland’s Ancient East. Between the towns of Herbertstown and Bruff, it’s hidden away amid hills and green scenes scattered with standing stones, burial mounds, Iron Age forts – and, so locals will tell you, the home of the King of the Fairies.
Visitors to the Heritage Centre at Lough Gur can find out about it's rich heritage by visiting the interactive multimedia exhibition that brings to life over 8,000 of archaeology and history.
The exhibition brings the visitor on a journey through the history of Lough Gur starting during the Mesolithic (Middle Stone Age) Era, and progressing until the 19th century (1800’s), when the Farm By Lough Gur was written.
The exhibition is suitable for all ages and abilities. Visitors can learn about the history and archaeology of Lough Gur. They can find out more about many of the areas archaeological sites, including some that are not publicly accessible.
Visitors also have an opportunity to actively engage with the exhibition, and can have a role in forming their individual experience at the centre by choosing which interactive elements to investigate, either on their own or with their family/friends.